I am blessed…

So, about a week ago, I started a whiny little post basically pouting and complaining about how things were going in my life.  I never got to finish it because I just didn’t have the time to write at that moment.  Now I can say I’m glad I didn’t put all that negativity out there.  My life can suck at times, who’s doesn’t?  What I had forgotten, and often do, is that “it can’t rain all the time” (one of my fave quotes from a terrific movie).  Do I still feel like I’m in some sort of rut?  Yes.  And, I often feel like there’s no way out of said rut, but then I have an amazing weekend with my family and things just get put back into perspective.  I could be without those I love the most, there are plenty of people in this world suffering way more than my family.  I just get frustrated at times.. I guess I’m just a bit too human.  I believe in the power of our words, so I’m just going to put this out there..  I and my family WILL have our very own house someday soon, my husband will get a job he can enjoy and we will be where we need to be financially and otherwise.  I just have to remember to be patient!  That being said, I would like to share what made my weekend so wonderful..

Friday is usually my day off (I work Monday – Thursday), but I was covering for another sonographer in a different office.  It’s CRAZY busy work, work I’m sorry to say I’m no longer accustomed to since I work in a much smaller office.  It’s busy and hectic but I do love that pace.  They actually paid me on Friday, which I wasn’t expecting yet.  That helped our situation tremendously.  On Saturday, my oldest child was to be in a parade.  I live in a very small town and we have an annual harvest festival, this year was probably the best I’ve seen, they actually had a few carnival rides, a first as far as I know, but I digress.  My son is in his first year of marching band and loves it!  We took him to line up for the parade and found our spot to wait and watch.  Of course, my youngest had a blast because they threw A LOT of candy this year and he really racked up!  There’s nothing like seeing your child doing something he loves and actually be good at it.  He’s my misfit kid almost, he tried baseball for a few years but never really got into it, and had no interest in any other sport.  Last year, in sixth grade, he started band and did well.  This is the first year he was able to be a part of the marching band and he has really found his niche!

10675614_820823584626764_6264981157658640585_n

He’s the little one playing the baritone to the left of the pic.  I have an awful camera on my phone and almost missed getting a pic of him.  I’ve come to realize this marching band thing is like a family, they really stick together and lift each other up.  I’m a very proud mamma!

After the parade, my husband and I rode in our first poker run.  I just love riding on his bike with him, he thinks I should have my own too, but no way am I comfortable with that!  We really had a great time!  The route they sent us on was very scenic and even though I grew up here, we visited places I’d never been.  My hand ended up being terrible, but he won second best hand and I actually won in a drawing for a dinner for two..  I never win anything!  It was a great day.   We then picked the boys up and took them back there with my mother-in-law to enjoy the festival.. We all had a big time and I believe my youngest learned his threshold for dizziness is quite different from his brother’s!  They rode rides together and got along perfectly, which is a miracle in itself!

On Sunday, we went shopping!!  (here comes the shallow part)  I LOVE TO SHOP!  And we hardly ever really get to, but my work is having a gala tonight and I really needed something to wear.  Actually, it’s fall and I really needed some new boots.  I found an amazing pair that were actually quite affordable and after running all over town, went back and bought that first pair!  My husband is such a trooper, he never complained and just took me store to store.  We visited with some friends for a while and spent the rest of the day vegging with the boys.

I just realize after this weekend how very blessed I truly am!  I have a husband who loves me, two beautiful boys who are finally starting to actually like each other, maybe, and a family I can spend time with.  We may not have everything we want, but we have what we absolutely need and that’s ok with me.

Have a blessed day, all.

4 thoughts on “I am blessed…

  1. ccchanel41 says:

    Finally on my laptop…I still have no idea why my phone will not let me hit like with the WP app! Am I the only one that gets irritated with the WP press app? But I am ruining this beautiful post…sorry.
    I LOVE this post. I thought it was beautiful, lovely, touching, full of joy and family, I mean just loved it!
    I imagine you can tell I loved it. You are blessed and have a beautiful family. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • stephsgrn says:

      Thank you! I haven’t had a lot of experience with the app, I check my notifications on it, but I think I’ve had problems liking things as well! Your words mean so much to me, I honestly didn’t expect anyone to care much for what I’ve had to say, let alone as many as I’ve had so far! It means a lot!

      Like

  2. Angie Mc says:

    Perfect! Especially the mama pride part ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Comments

