Are You Smarter Than A 3RD Grader??

Apparently not..

So, a couple of weeks ago when I realized my 8th grader would be taking pre-algebra this year, I was actually excited!  Yes, the nerd in me came out full bloom.  I always loved algebra, and was pretty good at it.  Of course, he hasn’t needed my help much at all, to my dismay..

My 3rd grader on the other hand…  Not so lucky.  He has these flash cards he has to study for his math vocabulary test coming up.  As moms do, I was attempting to help him but it was the first time studying these and he didn’t know them much at all.  This meant I had to explain to him what it meant, and help him find a way to remember the definitions.  This was going quite well, until we came to this:

20150822_17344320150822_173453

What??  What does that even mean??  How could I explain this to my son if I didn’t have a clue what it meant myself??  So I turned to Google, an act that I’ve gotten quite familiar with since helping my oldest with homework when he was in elementary.

Screenshot_2015-08-22-17-54-03

Seriously?  Luckily they had a link to examples..

Screenshot_2015-08-22-17-56-10

You’ve got to be kidding me?!?!?  Why the hell didn’t they just say estimating or rounding?  Could they not have put that little hint on the back of the flash card?  All of the others had examples, why not this one?  This was quite a few minutes we’ll never get back.  Searching Google just to help my 3rd grader with his homework, suddenly I’m not feeling very intelligent.

In my opinion, the way they taught us math all those years ago worked quite well.. Why did they have to go changing the way they teach now?  All these weird definitions and don’t get me started on the methods they use to solve problems these days!  That’s a whole other post in itself!

4 thoughts on “Are You Smarter Than A 3RD Grader??

  1. Maybe it wasn’t a compatible definition lmao!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mspoet says:

    One thing I’ve realized with math in America, not trying to offend anyone and/or correct me if I’m wrong, kinda suck at wording the simplest things. They either don’t explain it enough or they give a complex explanation.
    I do hope that doesn’t stand in your son’s way of learning and understanding it. Best of luck to him 😁

    Liked by 1 person

Comments

